CSC Outreach 2014

photo (3)

 

In the midst of happiness or despair

In sorrow or in joy

In pleasure or in pain

Do what is right & you will be at peace

CSC Outreach is finally over! :”)

The first day of any planning for Outreach began on 21 July 2014, which coincidentally is also the first meeting where we had as the main committee heading Youth Rangers for AY 14/15. In the short span of a few weeks, I’m glad we managed to pull it off pretty well (in my opinion), garnering decent sign ups for Youth Rangers (: I’m glad that these potential volunteers are willing to give YR a chance, considering how we are merely a probationary RVP.

Because they believe in the potential in our PRVP, we must not let them down. Words simply can’t express how proud I am of my committee for their dedication in making Outreach a success, in one way or another. Admittedly there were minor hiccups along the way, but we learn from them, and make things work out ultimately. Also, this is the first time the 7 of us are working together on such a (considerably) large scale project, so no regrets with the outcome at all. 

The past week has been insane, with Outreach related stuff every single day. Final rehearsal with other C/Y Sector heads for our talk on Monday + preparation of booth & comm meeting on Tuesday + Outreach Tour on wed to fri + Outreach Talk on Friday evening. I’m sooo glad it’s finally over because I don’t know why but it has been so draining, yet fulfilling at the same time of course.

But just like what 940 said, this is merely step 0 of this entire process. Recruitment of volunteers, retention of volunteers, structure of YR, there are so many things that are undone but urgent matters. I’m confident in the committee, to bring YR to greater heights :’) 

One major plus point of Outreach was that I got to know more people better. Tanking 12 official hours of duty (& idk how many hours I crashed duty haha), it really allowed me to talk to quite a few comm members on a 1-to-1 basis, and it’s interesting to learn about the perspective towards certain things that they may have. I won’t be ashamed to actually declare that our comm subtly became closer, with more inside jokes shared & what-not (:

Alright, not only did I get to know my comm better, I got to know other people in CSC better as well! For one, I’m not as awkward around the other C/Y Sector heads already (I hope), as compared to the first meeting, which was SO awkward for me I literally felt like just slumping down in my chair & being a major phantom/fading into the background – no kidding. But things got better, I’m thankful for their time in entertaining me when I was bored & just playing around with me, or helping out Youth Rangers booth during duty even though they aren’t obliged to :’)

It’s the little actions in each & every member of CSC that makes this experience so meaningful. As I said before, the people in CSC give off a vibe that’s vastly different from the rest of the population, yet within CSC, everyone gives off this same friendly kind courteous vibe that’s just so … genuine. And I like it a lot, I really do. Thankful to be part of this CSC family, grateful to YR, grateful to everyone.

Just had the sudden realization that today’s the only day in this entire week where I’m not out & about being involved with CSC matters. ‘was suppose to go for GAW today but due to other commitments, I had to pull out. Which is pretty regretful because I’ve been wanting to experience the wish collection phase of GAW ): Ah well, sacrifices, priorities. There’s CSC Elections Day 1 tomorrow! Going to be attending & just listening to speeches, hope it’ll be an interesting experience so x fingers!

Shall end off with the quote included in the signature of YR email:

Everything has beauty, but not everyone can see.

Till the next time x

Leave a Reply

