Little Black Star

ML Shot01_Avril_062

27 September marks a very special day for all Little Black Stars. Exactly 30 years ago, our inspiration was born on this very day 🙂

#Happy30thBirthdayAvril 

There’s just something about the lyrics/melody of songs of Avril’s that resonates within me, I literally LOVE every.single.song. There are many people who claim that the standard of her songs are deteriorating or whatsoever but I strongly beg to differ – just look at the songs from her latest self-composed self-titled album Avril Lavigne, it’s perfection as usual :’)

Life is like a rolling coaster. Live it. Be happy. Enjoy life.
– Avril Lavigne

And so … she has released 5 studio albums thus far, & I’ve dedicated the entire day to listen to her songs, to commemorate this special day! (On a sidenote, I’m SO jealous of all ’em fans who get to join Avril’s birthday party @ Vegas today omg 😦 )

Let Go (2002)
Under My Skin (2004)
The Best Damn Thing (2007)
Goodbye Lullaby (2011)
Avril Lavigne (2014)

I sincerely can’t wait for her to release her sixth, seventh, eighth & counting studio albums hee. It will probably be years before her next album is out, but definitely worth the wait. I’ve waited for 3 years for Avril Lavigne to be released, I’m willing to wait another 3 years for the next album :’) & so thankful that as a Little Black Star, I finally got the chance to enjoy her concert & see her in real life on 15 Feb 2014 this year, for The Avril Lavigne Tour. I was so, so overwhelmed with feels, literally.

avrillavigne_bestdamnthing_albumphoto5

Why should I care what other people think of me? I am who I am. And who I wanna be.
– Avril Lavigne

Avril Lavigne will ALWAYS be my inspiration, and her songs are the ones I can fall back on whenever I’m sad/happy/lonely/blissful or whatever. & they strive as my motivation to carry on & keep holding on, no matter how tough things might get in life. There’s just so many things that I want to say but words will NEVER be able to encapsulate my admiration for Avril, from how she’s so persistent in her own personality & doesn’t conform to society, to the fact that she’d rather spend time trying to conceive tears to make her Wish You Were Here MV seem more real/touching (& hell did it evoke ’em strong emotions within me).

Saw a Little Black Star caption this on instagram, it’s so true indeed:

30 years ago my hero, my inspiration, my saviour was born ❤ Your music was there for me when I need someone there. When I would have a bad day, your music would save me from slipping away from my mind. When I was happy your upbeat music would make me smile even more. When I needed someone to understand you let me know that everybody hurts someday and it’s okay. When I was weak you told me to keep holding on. Words can’t honestly tell you how much you’ve gotten me through. Without your beautiful, unique and special voice I don’t know how I would survive. We’re all proud of you.

That’s why we save your photos
We save your videos
We save your music
Because you saved our lives.

(cr: avrillavigne_1984 on insta)

And I really wanna share my all-time favorite, Innocence, from The Best Damn Thing album in 2011 🙂 The lyrics of Innocence will always be my favorite, I guess it’s an ideal that I aim to attain in life someday. & have I mentioned how therapeutic it is to play Innocence on the piano? (‘:

P.S. There isn’t an actual MV for this song (sadly), but this version has been really, really famous & garnering a lot of views; it’s a compilation/snippets from her various MVs, worth the watch!

Happy 30th Birthday once again to my eternal inspiration, Avril Ramona Lavigne ❤ x

Ending off with the full lyrics of Innocence.

Waking up I see that everything is okay
The first time in my life and now it’s so great
Slowing down I look around and I am so amazed
I think about the little things that make life great

I wouldn’t change a thing about it
This is the best feeling

This innocence is brilliant
I hope that it will stay
This moment is perfect
Please don’t go away
I need you now
And I’ll hold on to it
Don’t you let it pass you by

I found a place so safe, not a single tear
The first time in my life and now it’s so clear
Feel calm, I belong, I’m so happy here
It’s so strong and now I let myself be sincere

I wouldn’t change a thing about it
This is the best feeling

This innocence is brilliant
I hope that it will stay
This moment is perfect
Please don’t go away
I need you now
And I’ll hold on to it
Don’t you let it pass you by

It’s a state of bliss, you think you’re dreaming
It’s the happiness inside that you’re feeling
It’s so beautiful it makes you wanna cry
It’s a state of bliss, you think you’re dreaming
It’s the happiness inside that you’re feeling
It’s so beautiful it makes you wanna cry

It’s so beautiful it makes you wanna cry
This innocence is brilliant
Makes you wanna cry
This innocence is brilliance
Please don’t go away
Cause I need you now
And I’ll hold on to it
Don’t you let it pass you by

Leave a Reply

