Escapism

tumblr_mxpzbm5lws1qjj4npo1_400

Not everything is supposed to become something beautiful and long-lasting. Sometimes people come into your life to show you what is right and what is wrong, to show you who you can be, to teach you to love yourself, to make you feel better for a little while, or to just be someone to walk with at night and spill your life to. Not everyone is going to stay forever, and we still have to keep on going and thank them for what they’ve given us. – Emery Allen

Reminder to self. For what it’s worth, perhaps distancing earlier would be beneficial for others. The last thing I’d want is for progress to be impeded due to my presence . . . because ultimately, sacrifices have to be made, and I’d rather make the first move of separation. Call it being nice, or call it being selfish, I’ve gone through enough to know when to let go to prevent further upsets. I’m honestly tired this time. I’m tired of being conflicted between trying & walking away, so this time, let me be selfish and choose the latter.

“Week 13 already!!!” It’s gonna be an intense & crazy studying period ahead but let’s survive & look forward to placement in the summer 🙂 Skeptical of my abilities to perform as a Social Work student, but excited to learn from the experience hee. Pretty excited for all others on first placement too, it’ll be so fulfilling for all of us & listening from each other’s journey during placement! It’ll be a busy summer ahead with different commitments to juggle but . . . with faith & passion we’ll conquer it all.

I’ve grown to realise that situations beyond your control are far worse than situations that you can have an impact on. When you’re caught in a situation where you’re rendered useless, all you can feel is helplessness & despair. When no amount of worrying or crying can salvage anything, when you feel like the whole world has turned against you. Through this, I’ve learnt that I tend to escape from problems that I should be facing, though living in denial can only last for a short period of time. When reality slaps me in the face after, it’ll hurt a million times more, and I’m not sure if I can take it any longer.

Hmm anyway, ‘ve been listening to Hebe’s songs quite frequently, which is surprising given that I rarely listen to Chinese songs haha. Love the style & lyrics of her songs, it provides a blanket of comfort for times like these. But anyway, looking forward to song recommendations so please recommend if any (esp English songs hehe)!

Some of the greatest battles will be fought within the silent chambers of your own soul.

Till the next time x

Leave a Reply

